On this page
Quick answer
The galleries are free; many exhibitions are not. When XTOUR read their visit pages on 11 October 2026, the National Gallery, the Natural History Museum, the V&A, Tate Modern and Tate Britain all described entry to their collections as free, while charging for some or all special exhibitions. Two of them offer an optional free ticket: the National Gallery for fast-track entry, the Natural History Museum to guarantee entry when it is busy. According to the Department for Culture, Media and Sport, the UK government said on 29 September 2026 that universal free admission to England's national museums will continue and that it will not introduce charges for overseas visitors. XTOUR could not read the British Museum's or the Science Museum's visit pages on 11 October 2026, so it states nothing about their current entry terms.
The short answer
Walking into the permanent galleries of London's big national museums costs nothing; seeing a special exhibition often does. On 11 October 2026 the National Gallery said it "is free to visit" and that "there is a charge for some exhibitions".[4] The Natural History Museum said its galleries "are free to explore".[5] The V&A listed "Admission is free" against every one of its venues,[6] and both Tate galleries said entry to the collection is free for everyone.[8]
What differs from museum to museum is the ticketing around that free entry: whether a free ticket exists, what it is for, and how exhibitions are sold. That is the part a visitor needs to check, and it is set out museum by museum below.
Why entry is free, and whether that will change
Free entry to national museums in England was introduced in 2001, according to the Department for Culture, Media and Sport.[1] Earlier in 2026 the government said it would explore whether charging overseas visitors could help museum finances. On 29 September 2026 it announced the result: it "will not introduce charges for overseas visitors", and universal free admission to the national museums in England continues.[1]
DCMS describes the arrangement on its statistics page: it sponsors 15 national museums and galleries "who provide free entry to their permanent collections", funded through management agreements with the department.[2] That page does not list the fifteen by name, and XTOUR did not find a DCMS page that does. Its monthly visit statistics name Royal Museums Greenwich, Tate Britain and V&A South Kensington among the sponsored sites.[3] XTOUR does not extend the label to a museum that no page it read names.
The free-entry promise covers permanent collections. Nothing in the DCMS pages says exhibitions must be free, and the museums' own pages show they mostly are not.
Museum by museum
National Gallery. General admission is free, and the Gallery offers a free general admission ticket "for fast-track entry", with walk-up entry also available.[4] Exhibition tickets include free general admission. The visit page warns that building work has closed some rooms and moved some paintings to protect them, ahead of a Research Centre due to open in 2028, and asks anyone looking for a specific painting to check its current location on the website first. The page gives the entrance as the Sainsbury Wing on Trafalgar Square.[4]
Natural History Museum. The galleries are free, but the visit page says that at busy times, during weekends and school holidays, visitors may have to queue to get in.[5] To guarantee entry it gives three routes: membership, a free entry ticket, or a ticket to one of its exhibitions or events. The same page says bags may be searched on arrival. When XTOUR read it on 11 October 2026, the page still carried a notice that the South Kensington site had been closed all day on Friday 9 October 2026 for a charity gala, a reminder that one-off closures are announced on the visit page itself.[5]
V&A. The V&A is a family of venues, and its visit page marks each as free: South Kensington, Young V&A in Bethnal Green, V&A East Storehouse and V&A East Museum in east London, V&A Dundee in Scotland and the V&A Wedgwood Collection in Stoke-on-Trent.[6] Only the first four are in London. The South Kensington page says "Admission is free" and that "some exhibitions and events carry a separate charge". In its listings the displays and festivals were marked free, while the exhibitions were priced, marked "Last few tickets" or marked "Tickets available soon"; the page says members get free access to exhibitions.[7]
Tate Modern. The gallery is free to visit. Tate's admission notes say entry to the collection is free for everyone and that booking is recommended for exhibitions, which are charged.[8] Tate members get free exhibition entry without booking, and among its exhibition concessions the page says up to four children aged 11 and under go free per parent or guardian. It also says bags larger than cabin-bag size are not allowed in the building.[8]
Tate Britain. Entry to the gallery is free and, in Tate's words, "there's no need to book"; booking is recommended for exhibitions, though some tickets may be available at the door. The page says the Millbank entrance is closed until 2027 while the Clore Garden is built, and directs visitors to the Manton Entrance on Atterbury Street.[9]
Greenwich. None of the pages read for this guide covers the Royal Museums Greenwich sites, so their entry terms are left to the Maritime Greenwich guide, which cites Royal Museums Greenwich's own pages.
| Museum | Permanent collection | Free ticket offered | Exhibitions |
|---|---|---|---|
| National Gallery | Free | Yes, for fast-track entry; walk-up also possible | Some charged |
| Natural History Museum | Free | Yes, to guarantee entry at busy times | Ticketed exhibitions and events |
| V&A South Kensington | Free | Not stated on the pages read | Mix of free and ticketed |
| Tate Modern | Free | Not stated on the page read | Charged; booking recommended |
| Tate Britain | Free, no need to book | Not stated on the page read | Charged; booking recommended |
| British Museum | Not read | Not read | Not read |
| Science Museum | Not read | Not read | Not read |
Three kinds of "free"
XTOUR's reading of these pages is that "free" covers three different arrangements. At Tate Britain, a visitor simply walks in.[9] At the National Gallery and the Natural History Museum, entry is free but a free timed ticket is offered: the Gallery presents it as fast-track entry, the Museum as a way to guarantee entry, since at busy times visitors without a ticket or membership may have to queue.[5] And at every museum here, the special exhibition is a separate, usually paid, product that sits inside the free building.[4]
So the question to answer before a visit is not "is it free?" but "do I want the exhibition, and does this museum want me to book even the free part?"
What XTOUR could not read
XTOUR could not read the British Museum's visit page or home page, or the Science Museum's visit page, on 11 October 2026. It therefore states nothing about either museum's current entry, ticket or exhibition terms. The DCMS news story mentions the British Museum, but only for its visitor numbers, and XTOUR does not turn that into a statement about how to get in.
XTOUR also does not publish opening hours, exhibition prices or queue times for any of these museums. Each page cited here carries them, and each can change without notice.
Where this fits
The National Gallery, the Natural History Museum, the V&A's South Kensington museum and Tate Modern are all in London. The Greenwich sites have their own guide, and the United Kingdom country page carries the wider picture.
Sources & references
- [1]GOV.UK news story 'National museums to remain free for everyone', Department for Culture, Media and Sport and Lisa Nandy MP, published 29 September 2026: universal free admission to national museums in England confirmed; free entry introduced in 2001; government 'will not introduce charges for overseas visitors'. Read 2026-10-11
- [2]GOV.UK collection 'DCMS-sponsored museums and galleries statistics' (DCMS): 'The Department for Culture, Media and Sport sponsors 15 national museums and galleries who provide free entry to their permanent collections'; publicly funded under management agreements with DCMS. The page does not list the fifteen by name. Read 2026-10-11
- [3]GOV.UK statistical data set 'Museums and galleries monthly visits' (DCMS): series covers DCMS-sponsored museums and galleries in England; release notes name Royal Museums Greenwich, Tate Britain, V&A South Kensington, National Museums Liverpool and the Horniman Museum among the sponsored sites. Read 2026-10-11
- [4]National Gallery, 'Plan your visit': 'The National Gallery is free to visit. There is a charge for some exhibitions'; free general admission ticket 'for fast-track entry', walk-up entry also available; exhibition tickets include free general admission; entrance via the Sainsbury Wing; building work closing some rooms and moving paintings, new Research Centre opening 2028. Read 2026-10-11
- [5]Natural History Museum, 'Visit': 'Our galleries are free to explore'; at busy times visitors may have to queue; to guarantee entry, become a member, book a free entry ticket or get an exhibition or event ticket; bags may be searched; South Kensington site closed on Friday 9 October 2026 for a charity gala. Read 2026-10-11
- [6]Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A), 'Visit the V&A': venues in South Kensington, Bethnal Green (Young V&A), Hackney Wick and Stratford (V&A East Storehouse and Museum), Dundee and Stoke-on-Trent (Wedgwood Collection), each listed with 'Admission is free'. Read 2026-10-11
- [7]V&A South Kensington page: 'Admission is free'; 'Some exhibitions and events carry a separate charge'; displays and festivals listed as 'Free', exhibitions listed with prices, 'Last few tickets' or 'Tickets available soon'; membership gives free access to exhibitions. Read 2026-10-11 (re-read by independent review 2026-10-11)
- [8]Tate, 'Tate Modern' visit page: 'Our gallery is free to visit'; 'Entry to the collection is free for everyone. Booking is recommended for exhibitions'; members free exhibition entry without booking; up to four children aged 11 and under go free per parent or guardian; bags larger than cabin bag size not permitted. Read 2026-10-11
- [9]Tate, 'Tate Britain' visit page: 'Entry to the gallery is free – there's no need to book. Booking a ticket is recommended for exhibitions but some tickets may be available at the door'; Millbank entrance closed until 2027 for the Clore Garden, use the Manton Entrance on Atterbury Street. Read 2026-10-11
Frequently asked questions
Good to know
Do overseas visitors have to pay to enter London's national museums?
Not as of 29 September 2026. According to the Department for Culture, Media and Sport, writing that day, the government had considered charging overseas visitors and would not introduce such charges, and that everyone will continue to enjoy universal free admission to the national museums in England.
Is the V&A in Dundee covered by the same free-entry policy?
According to the Victoria and Albert Museum's own visit page, admission is free at V&A Dundee, as at its London venues. The government statement of 29 September 2026 is about national museums in England; V&A Dundee is in Scotland, so XTOUR does not read that statement as covering it. Its free entry rests on the V&A's own page.