Skip to main content

Travel Guide

United Kingdom

National Trust, English Heritage, Historic Scotland or Cadw: which membership or pass fits a UK trip

Britain's heritage sites are run by different bodies in England, Scotland and Wales, and each sells its own membership and short-term pass. This guide sets out what each body's own pages say it covers, which reciprocal benefits they state, and where their statements about one another do not match.

On this page

Quick answer

Choose by where you will be. English Heritage covers over 400 historic places in England and sells an Overseas Visitor Pass of 9 or 16 consecutive days to overseas residents. The National Trust offers free entry to over 500 places in its care and parking, and sells a 4, 8 or 14-day Explorer Pass for trips in England, Wales and Northern Ireland which, according to its own page, does not admit to Stonehenge or Housesteads. Historic Environment Scotland's Historic Scotland membership covers its ticketed sites, including Edinburgh Castle, and its Explorer Pass is valid for 14 consecutive days. Cadw, which cares for Wales's historic places, covers over 100 of them and sells 3-day and 7-day Explorer Passes. According to Historic Environment Scotland, first-year Historic Scotland members get half-price entry at English Heritage and Cadw sites and free entry after renewal, and there is no reciprocal admission with the National Trust. According to Cadw, its members get the same in reverse at English Heritage and Historic Scotland sites. English Heritage separately admits National Trust (England) members free at Stonehenge.

Start with the map

The United Kingdom has no single heritage membership. Historic places in England, Scotland and Wales are cared for by different bodies, and each sells access to its own sites. The first question is therefore not which membership is better but where you will be:

  • England: English Heritage, which describes its membership as unlimited days out at over 400 sites.[1]
  • England, Wales and Northern Ireland: the National Trust, whose membership page offers free entry to over 500 places in its care, plus parking.[3]
  • Scotland: Historic Environment Scotland, the public body that runs the Historic Scotland sites, including Edinburgh Castle and Stirling Castle.[5][4]
  • Wales: Cadw, which says it cares for Wales's historic places, with membership giving access to over 100 of them.[9]

Two bodies are outside this guide. XTOUR has not read the National Trust for Scotland's website, which it could not open on 11 October 2026, or a Northern Ireland page on admission to state-run monuments. The National Trust's own Explorer Pass page treats the National Trust for Scotland as a separate organisation whose places its pass does not admit.[8]

Annual membership or a visitor pass

Each of the four bodies names a short-term pass aimed at visitors, and the terms differ more than the names suggest.

  • English Heritage Overseas Visitor Pass. According to English Heritage, it is a 9 or 16 consecutive day pass valid at over 100 places including Stonehenge and Dover Castle, sold to overseas residents, who buy it online and collect it at a staffed site with their booking confirmation, proof of overseas residency and the card they paid with.[2] That is a narrower set than the over 400 sites annual members can visit.[1]
  • Historic Scotland Explorer Pass. According to Historic Environment Scotland, it is valid for 14 consecutive days and covers its ticketed sites including Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle and Urquhart Castle, with guaranteed entry when visits are pre-booked online.[4] Its page notes that Explorer Pass holders will not be able to pre-book Stirling Castle in February and March 2027.[6] The membership FAQs describe the pass as giving benefits similar to membership for 14 days.[7]
  • Cadw Explorer Pass. According to Cadw, the 3-day pass can be used on any 3 days in a 7-day period and the 7-day pass on any 7 days in 14, and it is accepted only at the sites Cadw lists, which include Caernarfon, Conwy, Harlech and Beaumaris castles and Tintern Abbey.[12]
  • National Trust Explorer Pass. According to the National Trust's Explorer Pass page, it is bought online in advance for 4, 8 or 14 days for a short trip in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, and gives standard admission to many of the places in its care plus free parking; the page adds that the pass is not National Trust membership.[8] The membership page says "most" of the places in its care rather than "many".[3] The pass page lists the places it excludes, among them Stonehenge and Housesteads Fort, and says it does not admit to places with reciprocal entry agreements such as English Heritage, the National Trust for Scotland, or places managed by Cadw.[8]

XTOUR's reading is that the passes reward a concentrated trip in one nation, while an annual membership suits repeated visits, but the bodies publish their own prices and XTOUR does not compare costs.

Reciprocal benefits, as each body states them

This is where the official pages need reading side by side, because the bodies describe their arrangements with each other in different words.

Historic Scotland and Cadw describe a two-step arrangement with English Heritage. Historic Environment Scotland's benefits page says first-year members get half-price entry to English Heritage sites in England and Cadw sites in Wales, free once they renew or with a life membership, and free entry to Manx National Heritage sites on the Isle of Man.[5] Cadw's membership page says the same in reverse: a 50% discount at English Heritage and Historic Scotland sites, becoming free entry on renewal.[9] Cadw also lists unlimited entry to Manx National Heritage properties.[10]

English Heritage's membership page states this only for life members. Its FAQ says life members get free entry, with an adult guest and children, at English Heritage, Historic Scotland, Cadw and OPW Heritage Ireland sites.[1] The page XTOUR read does not state what annual English Heritage members get in Scotland or Wales.

Historic Scotland has no arrangement with the National Trust. Historic Environment Scotland's FAQs say plainly: "we do not offer reciprocal admission to National Trust properties".[7]

The National Trust and English Heritage cross over at named sites, not by a general rule. According to English Heritage, National Trust (England) members are entitled to free entry to Stonehenge and book with a code.[13] At Housesteads on Hadrian's Wall, English Heritage says the fort is owned by the National Trust and managed by English Heritage, and National Trust members enter free.[15] At Avebury, the National Trust says members of both bodies park free and get free entry to what its membership note calls the Stables Museum, while its manor and garden are free only to National Trust members.[16] The Stonehenge and Avebury guide sets out the museum's two names on that page. English Heritage's Stonehenge parking page lists "Associated Members (CSSC, NT England, CADW & Historic Scotland)" as parking free.[14] The National Trust's membership page does not mention any of this, and its Explorer Pass page is explicit that the pass, unlike membership, does not admit to Stonehenge or Housesteads.[8]

A membership is not a pass to everything historic. The Roman Baths in Bath is a council site, and its FAQs say National Trust and English Heritage members are not entitled to free entry.[17]

Where the bodies' own statements conflict

  • How many English Heritage sites. English Heritage says over 400.[1] Historic Environment Scotland's benefits page refers to "500+ English Heritage sites in England".[5] XTOUR uses English Heritage's own figure for English Heritage.
  • Cadw sites in Historic Scotland's first year. Historic Environment Scotland's benefits page says first-year members get half-price entry to Cadw sites.[5] Its FAQs say "All Historic Scotland members can book a free visit on the Cadw website", then that first-year members "will pay reduced admission on arrival".[7] XTOUR's reading is that a free booking is made online and the 50% charge is paid at the door, but the page does not say so.
  • How many places Cadw membership opens. Cadw's membership page says over 100 historic places; its benefits page says "over 500 historic properties", counting partner sites in England, Scotland and the Isle of Man.[10][9]
  • Children on a Cadw membership. The membership page says children enter free with adult memberships; the benefits page sets a limit of up to 6 children per adult or senior member.[10][9]

Practical differences in using a card

According to Historic Environment Scotland's FAQs, members should pre-book to guarantee entry at its busiest sites, including Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle, Urquhart Castle and Skara Brae, and once those sites sell out online there are no walk-up tickets. The same FAQs say members must show their membership card alongside a booking, and that the digital card is accepted at English Heritage, Cadw and Manx National Heritage.[7] For how this works at the castle itself, see Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile.

According to Cadw's FAQs, staff scan an active digital or plastic card on arrival, and Cadw offers only digital memberships for overseas members.[11] English Heritage's membership page says up to six children under 18 per adult member go free within the family group.[1]

For the two sites where English Heritage and the National Trust overlap most, see Stonehenge and Avebury and Hadrian's Wall; Cadw's four World Heritage castles are compared in Edward I's castles in Gwynedd.

What XTOUR does not know

  • XTOUR does not publish membership or pass prices; each body publishes its own and changes them.
  • Which National Trust places need advance booking; the Explorer Pass page says some places require it and asks visitors to check before they go.[8]
  • Anything about the National Trust for Scotland, whose website XTOUR could not read the same day, or about state-run monuments in Northern Ireland.
  • What annual English Heritage members get at Historic Scotland and Cadw sites, which the English Heritage page XTOUR read does not state.
  • Whether a membership or a pass costs less for any particular trip. That depends on prices XTOUR does not repeat.

Sources & references

Frequently asked questions

Good to know

Does English Heritage or National Trust membership get me into the Roman Baths?

No. According to the Roman Baths visitor FAQs, the site is owned by Bath & North East Somerset Council and National Trust and English Heritage members are not entitled to free entry.

Is the National Trust for Scotland the same as the National Trust?

No. The National Trust's Explorer Pass page names the National Trust for Scotland among the reciprocal-entry organisations whose places the pass does not admit, and describes the pass as for trips in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. XTOUR could not open the National Trust for Scotland's own website on 11 October 2026, so it says nothing about that body's membership or what reciprocal entry it offers.