Skip to main content

Travel Guide

United Kingdom

Stonehenge and Avebury: English Heritage, the National Trust and one World Heritage Site

Stonehenge and Avebury are two separate places in Wiltshire, England, inscribed together as one World Heritage Site. This guide sets out who runs each, what their own pages say about tickets and membership, and where those pages do not agree.

On this page

Quick answer

They are two different visits that share one World Heritage inscription, Stonehenge, Avebury and Associated Sites (1986). English Heritage runs Stonehenge; according to English Heritage's prices page, tickets are valid all day, are free for English Heritage members, and are free for National Trust (England) members who book with a code. Avebury's henge and stone circles are managed by the National Trust on behalf of English Heritage; English Heritage lists the stones as free entry, while the National Trust charges separately for Avebury Manor and Garden and for the Alexander Keiller Museum. No single ticket covers both places, but either membership opens more than one door: the National Trust says its members get free entry to Avebury Manor and Garden, and that members of both bodies park free at Avebury and get free entry to what its membership note calls the Stables Museum. Stonehenge is not in Avebury, and neither is in Bath or Salisbury.

Two places, one inscription

Stonehenge and Avebury are separate monuments in Wiltshire, England, run in different ways, and a ticket for one is not a ticket for the other. What joins them is a designation: the UK National Commission for UNESCO lists them together as one World Heritage Site, Stonehenge, Avebury and Associated Sites, inscribed in 1986. Its page describes monuments from roughly 3,700 to 1,600 BC spread across the Wiltshire chalk, including Silbury Hill near Avebury and monuments around Stonehenge aligned with the midsummer sunrise and midwinter sunset.[7] Neither monument is inside the other, and neither is in Bath or Salisbury: XTOUR treats Bath as a possible base for both, not as their location.

The practical question is who you deal with at each. English Heritage runs Stonehenge. At Avebury, English Heritage says the henge and stone circles are managed by the National Trust on its behalf, with the two organisations sharing the cost of looking after the property.[5] The National Trust also runs the paying parts of Avebury village: the manor, its garden and the museum.[6]

Stonehenge: an English Heritage ticket

English Heritage's Stonehenge page frames general admission as something to book ahead ("Pre-book to explore this unique prehistoric monument and World Heritage Site").[1] Its prices page is more precise: the advance discount applies to bookings made until midnight the day before, and you can still buy on the day, online or on arrival, at full price. The same page says tickets are valid all day, so you can arrive at any time within opening hours.[2] XTOUR does not repeat the prices or hours; they are behind the booking calendar on that page.

The circle itself is a separate booking. English Heritage's Stone Circle Experience page says access inside the circle is reserved for visits outside normal general admission hours, in sessions of at most 52 people split into two groups of 26, and asks visitors not to stand on or touch the stones. That page also says there are no Stone Circle Experiences in October or November.[3] The place page lists the exhibition, the Neolithic houses and a Stonehenge explorer tour alongside the circle.[1]

Avebury: free stones, paid house and museum

Avebury is a different kind of visit. English Heritage describes a henge built and altered between about 2850 BC and 2200 BC, whose bank and ditch encircle part of Avebury village, with a stone circle of originally about 100 stones enclosing two smaller circles. Its page lists the site as free entry and names the nearby West Kennet Avenue, West Kennet Long Barrow, The Sanctuary, Windmill Hill and Silbury Hill as part of the same ceremonial landscape.[5]

The National Trust's Avebury page describes four things: the stone circle, the Alexander Keiller Museum, Avebury Manor and the manor garden. It publishes separate ticket tables for the manor and garden, the garden alone, the museum and a guided Stone Circles tour, and runs a charged car park.[6] So a visit to the stones alone and a visit that includes the manor are different purchases.

What each membership gets you

This is where the two bodies' pages are most useful, and where they need reading side by side.

  • English Heritage members get free Stonehenge tickets, according to English Heritage's prices page.[2] At Avebury, the National Trust says English Heritage members park free and get free entry to the Stables Museum; its note gives free manor and garden entry to National Trust members only.[6]
  • National Trust members in England get free entry to Stonehenge: English Heritage's prices page says "National Trust (England) members are entitled to free entry" and gives a booking code for the checkout.[2] At Avebury, the National Trust says its members get free entry to Avebury Manor and Garden and to the Stables Museum, and free parking.[6]
  • Parking at Stonehenge is free for English Heritage members displaying their sticker, and English Heritage's directions page extends free parking to "Associated Members (CSSC, NT England, CADW & Historic Scotland)", who give their number plate at the admissions desk.[4]

The membership comparison sets these benefits against Historic Environment Scotland and Cadw, and covers the National Trust's Explorer Pass separately from membership.

Where the official pages differ

Three small disagreements are worth knowing before you go, because they are the kind of detail that decides what you show at a desk.

The Avebury museum has two names on one page. The National Trust's price table and opening list call it the Alexander Keiller Museum, but its membership note says "entry to the Stables Museum is free to National Trust and English Heritage members".[6] English Heritage's page names only the Alexander Keiller Museum.[5] XTOUR's reading is that both names refer to Avebury's museum, but the page does not say so.

The Avebury car park benefit is described two ways. English Heritage says the National Trust car park is free to its members "displaying a car sticker".[5] The National Trust says members of both bodies park free and should "scan your membership card on arrival".[6]

The size claims differ in scope. English Heritage calls Avebury's ring "the largest stone circle in Britain".[5] The UK National Commission for UNESCO's page calls it "the largest prehistoric stone circle in the world",[7] and the National Trust's own page says "the largest stone circle in the world".[6] XTOUR repeats each as its publisher's words and does not choose between them.

Choosing between them, or doing both

XTOUR's reading of the two operators' pages is that the visits answer different wishes. Stonehenge, as English Heritage presents it, is a ticketed site with an exhibition, a booking calendar and controlled access to the circle.[3][1] Avebury, as both bodies present it, is a landscape around a village where entry to the stones is free and the paid elements are a house, a garden and a museum.[6][5] Seeing both is two separate visits; XTOUR holds no route or travel time between them and does not suggest a schedule.

If you hold neither membership, the question is simply which tickets you need. If you hold one, the lists above show that, on the two bodies' own pages, English Heritage membership covers Stonehenge and, at Avebury, parking and the Stables Museum; National Trust membership covers Stonehenge and, at Avebury, parking, the Stables Museum and Avebury Manor and Garden.

What XTOUR does not know

  • XTOUR does not publish prices, opening hours or slot availability for either site. Both operators publish them on the pages cited here, and they change.
  • How long either visit takes, or how far apart the two places are by road. XTOUR has no routing data.
  • Accessibility beyond what the National Trust states for Avebury ("Stone circle partially accessible").[6]
  • Whether the Stables Museum and the Alexander Keiller Museum are one and the same; the National Trust's page uses both names without explaining them.

Sources & references

Frequently asked questions

Good to know

Can I walk among the stones at Stonehenge?

Not on a general admission visit, according to English Heritage. According to English Heritage, whose Stone Circle Experience page sets the rules, access inside the circle is reserved for visits outside normal general admission hours, with a maximum of 52 people per session, and there are no Stone Circle Experiences in October or November. At Avebury it is different: English Heritage lists the henge and stone circles as free entry, and the National Trust describes the stone circle as one 'which you can enter and explore'.

How do I get to Stonehenge without a car?

English Heritage's directions page names Salisbury as the nearest railway station and says a hop-on hop-off tour bus operated by Salisbury Reds picks up at Salisbury station, Salisbury city centre and Old Sarum; its Stone Circle Experience page warns that the tour bus timetable may not coincide with an early or late visit. XTOUR holds no timetable or travel time and does not state one.

Continue exploring

Related guides

London

United Kingdom travel guide: where to base yourself, and what each base is for

London, in England, and Edinburgh, Scotland's capital, come first; Bath, York, Oxford, Cambridge and Canterbury are smaller English bases, each built around a World Heritage site, a cathedral or a university; Cardiff, Glasgow, Inverness, Belfast and Liverpool cover Wales, the rest of Scotland, Northern Ireland and the north-west of England. This guide says what each base is for, which well-known sights are reached from a base rather than in it, and what XTOUR does not state.

Read guide